Where you are: Distinguished Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award  /  

Distinguished Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award

The REPTL Distinguished Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes distinguished Texas probate attorneys who have made significant and sustained contributions to the Texas probate, estate and trust law bar throughout their careers.


The Distinguished Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award has been presented to the following attorneys:

2018 - Jerry Frank Jones
2017 - Jim Aycock
2016 - Allan Howeth
2015 - Nikki DeShazo
2014 - L. Henry Gissel Jr.
2013 - Steve Akers
2012 - Edward V. Smith, III
2011 - Kent H. McMahan
2010 - Alvin J. Golden
2009 - Thomas M. Featherston, Jr.
2008 - Rust E. Reid
2007 - Walter P. Zivley
2006 - Jimmy Brill
2005 - Professor Stanley M. Johanson
2004 - Arthur H. Bayern
2003 - J. Thomas Eubank
2002 - J. Chrys Dougherty
2002 - Edward B. Winn
2001 - Charles A. Saunders


Nominations are always being sought for the Distinguished Probate Attorney Lifetime Achievement Award. Although not required, it is suggested that nominations include the following information:
  1. Name and address of nominee
  2. Curriculum vitae
    • Law-related education
    • Law-related employment
    • Law-related organizations, including offices held
  3. Professional achievements, awards, and honors
  4. Other information that is of relevance(e.g., bibliography of papers, articles, CLE presentations, etc.)

The deadline for submitting nominations for the next year's award is April 1 of each year. The award will be presented during the State Bar’s Advanced Estate Planning and Probate Course in June.

Nominations should be submitted via mail, fax or email to both coordinators for the Probate Award Committee:

Barbara McComas Anderson
Attorney at Law
PO Box 181147
Dallas, TX 75218-1147
Fax: 214-367-8091
Nikki DeShazo
5201 Amesbury, Apt 302
Dallas, TX 75206

Search REPTL

Contact Us | Disclaimer & Privacy Policy | Sitemap